But First Let Me Take a Selfie

Ah, you sneaky sneak. That feeling that creeps up on me like a bandit. That unwelcome insect that got inside my home through a crack in a window screen. We’ve all felt it at one time or another and maybe even right in this moment now. Insecurity.

Insecurity defined:

Uncertainty or anxiety about oneself; lack of confidence.

Last week, I didn’t want to ask God for help with this. I knew I should, so I finally asked God to help me with my feelings of insecurity, more specifically, physical insecurity.

He brought to mind 2 Corinthians 10:5 “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Blastissimo! I had completely left myself unguarded and allowed thoughts, even of my own to enter my mind without taking them captive and making those thoughts obedient to Christ. Great reminder, I thought. “Now God,” I said “Help me Google the perfect verse that’s going to make my feel physically beautiful, something to make me feel good.”

Oh, self. I set myself up for this one.

1 Peter 3:3-4 says “Do not let your adorning be external, the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear- but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit which in God’s sight is very precious.”

My issue is not external. My issue is internal. God is more concerned about the stillness of my heart before Him. The beauty of a heart in constant relationship with my Creator will naturally give me the confidence that I lack.

6 thoughts on “But First Let Me Take a Selfie

  1. i love this. i love you. and your amazing heart. you are truly beautiful in every way my friend! with you 100%. xo

  2. Niiiiiiice! Very well said, Christina. Taking captive every thought…Something ALL of us women to to be reminded of, and most def me. Thank you for that!

Leave a comment

