Before I Walked Down the Aisle

I’ll never forget, I was home for the summer during college and had just gone through a really tough break-up. My heart was hurting and I felt like I’d never get to be a bride. Have you ever been there? The feelings of disappointment, loneliness and hurt so deep that your heart can’t seem to catch a breath? Me too.

“I felt like I’d never get to be a bride.”

So one super late night on Tumblr (omg if you guys could see my old hipster college feels on that old blog of mine -__-) I watched this very special video. Sigur Ros is one of my favorite bands and this song “Hoppipolla” makes my heart strings soar. Real talk, the video is beautiful, but it hurt to watch because I was still in such a vulnerable place. It hurt because it encompassed everything the little girl inside of me wished for; love, marriage, a home of my own, and having children.

Fast forward to Tim and I dating, his proposal to me and us planning our wedding ceremony. I knew instantly that I wanted this video to be part of the ceremony somehow. On our wedding day the ceremony began, our parents and grandparents entered and were seated and the bridal party followed. Then, the doors closed, the lights dimmed and this video played…

As the video faded out, the audio of the song built up again, and the outside doors opened so that the bright daylight showed the silhouette of the bride, me. Then my daddy walked me down the aisle to give me away to my best friend.

To my girls who are eagerly awaiting your special moment as the bride: know that God knows and wants to give you the desires of your heart… in his timing. It is worth every ounce of the wait and all of the pain that comes before you make that lifelong commitment of marriage. Don’t rush it. Breathe and know that your Creator is in control. Cling to the Lord, study His Word, and trust that He knows what you need even before you ask.

 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” ‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:6-7‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Tonight, I’m saying a prayer specifically for you ladies, because I know that although the wait is hard, it is absolutely worth it.

To my husband, Happy 4th Anniversary, babe. It’s you and me.

Xx,

Christina Lynne

5 thoughts on “Before I Walked Down the Aisle

  1. Wow, once again Christina you’ve spoken directly to my heart. Thank you for sharing your story of waiting, the pain that oftentimes accompanies it, and the beauty that comes from it. I appreciate your prayers as a single girl, patiently–though admittedly impatiently at times–waiting on God’s best and for His will in my life to be done!

Leave a comment

