God Is Still Good

Whether you’ve been in the loop, or just felt impressed to pray for my family recently, a sincere thank you.

In the recent months I can’t help but be in awe at the faithfulness and mercy God has shown my family in the season life has tossed our way…

  • We made the transition to leave the ministry we helped build and love.
  • Some of our dearest friends moved away and our community has felt dispersed.
  • My mom was diagnosed and healed from cancer.
  • My dad survived a nearly fatal heart attack.

FuentesFam.png

Life undoubtedly brings hardships that we cannot expect or dodge. For me, the only thing that remains a constant source of comfort and strength during difficult times is the Lord. It’s hard to explain, but through these hard times I have (amidst my share of freak-outs) felt a peace in my spirit that has helped me to move forward each day. Here are a few things I’ve learned during this season of my life…


God is still good.

Nope, not “everything happens for a reason.” (Idea for future post: “‘Everything Happens for a Reason’ and Other Bullsh*t People Say.”  That’s one of the most insensitive things to say to someone going through a hard time, but I digress…) God is still good because he’s God (Exodus 3:14). He is with me, the Father of compassion and comfort (2 Corinthians 1:3-4). His ways far exceed my own plans (Isaiah 55:8-9). He knows all things (Job 34:21), He is unchanging (James 1:17), and gives me direct access to a relationship with Him (Ephesians 2:18). For that, He is the definition of goodness.


Prioritize time with God.

Get into God’s Word and spend time in prayer. You might say, “I don’t have time.” Well, with all due respect, YES you do. You just prioritize the things that are important to you. If something is truly important, you make it happen.

Tell me the last time you let your brows grow out too crazy, didn’t eat when you were hungry, or spent an hour scrolling through social media on your phone. Hey, I’ve been there too, but y’all, we’re adults. At some point you gotta make a grown decision to act like a Christian if you’ve decided that you are one. You only make things worse on yourself when you distance yourself from God, especially during hard times. Practically speaking, I’ve been digging into this Bible study on prayer. God and His Word have truly been growing, challenging and comforting me.

At some point you gotta make a grown decision to act like a Christian if you’ve decided that you are one.

Don’t stand still.

It’s easier to throw in the towel, hide under the covers, and stop everything because life is hard, but keep moving. Keep spending time with God, keep going to church, and stay in honest community with other Christians. More than anything on this planet, motherhood has taught me this. No matter how crappy my day gets, my son still needs to eat, his diaper still needs to be changed, cleaning still needs to happen and somebody’s still gotta cook dinner. Moms, I know you feel me on this one.

Stay faithful to the things you need to do as a Christian during difficult seasons. Ask God for perseverance and diligence.

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 11.05.44 PM

A Word to the Wise.

Real talk, though, watch out. Because when you make a commitment to stay close to the Lord, remember His goodness, and keep moving, the enemy may bring things against you to stop you from being faithful. God knows I’ve been on struggle street with this one. Exercise wisdom to recognize what those things are and pray through it for strength. Don’t let the enemy cloud your mind with lies. Strap up your big girl stilettos and get to steppin’ on that enemy with the truth of God’s Word. Last I recall, that enemy trembles at the name of my Jesus.

Thanks again for lifting up my fam in your prayers. Your prayers joined with mine are powerful and the reason I’ve been able to write this blog today. I hope that this encourages you in your tough season. God’s got your back, and so do I.

Xx,

Christina Lynne

Leave a comment

